Quality Assurance ACO Quality Measures - General Specifications

CMS will measure quality of care using 33 nationally recognized measures in 4 key domains:

  • Patient/caregiver experience (7 measures)
  • Care coordination/patient safety (6 measures)
  • Preventive health (8 measures)
  • At-risk population:
  • Diabetes (6 measures)
  • Hypertension (1 measure)
  • Ischemic Vascular Disease (2 measures)
  • Heart Failure (1 measure)
  • Coronary Artery Disease (2 measures)

General specifications for most 2012 Shared Savings Program quality measures may be obtained from the 2012 ACO Quality Measure Narrative Measure Specifications Manual(available at:www.cms.gov)

Quality Management program for Carolinas ACO

Carolinas ACO Quality management program is a comprehensive, integrated and on-going system designed to evaluate the care coordination and patient self-care education.Programs will focus on Home Health care coordination, discharge planning, patient education and medication management. Other community members and providers will be invited to actively participate in the development of the establishment of care plans that include the promotion of evidence based medicine initiatives.
Actions and activities relating to the Carolinas ACO Quality Management Program are delegated by the Board of Managers to the Carolinas ACO Quality Management Steering Committee .The quality management steering committee is composed of ACO physician participants,nurseco-ordinator and is chaired by the Medical director.